Side by side
| Option | Format | Price | Time | Certificate |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AI Fluency (Claude Academy) | Online course (14 lessons and a quiz) on working with AI using the 4D framework: Delegation, Description, Discernment and DiligenceSource: AI Fluency (Claude Academy), Format | Free courses from Anthropic's education teamSource: AI Fluency (Claude Academy), Price | 4 hours for AI Fluency: Framework and foundationsSource: AI Fluency (Claude Academy), Time | A completion badge after a final assessmentSource: AI Fluency (Claude Academy), Certificate |
| AI For Everyone | Self-paced course taught by Andrew Ng, aimed at non-technical colleagues, with videos, assignments and quizzesSource: AI For Everyone, Format | The Certificate experience is a purchase at enrollment, and eligible learners may start with a free trial; its page says some courses also offer a Full Course, No Certificate optionSource: AI For Everyone, Price | 7 hours to complete, in 4 modulesSource: AI For Everyone, Time | Shareable certificate you can add to LinkedInSource: AI For Everyone, Certificate |
| AILE | App with five-minute lessons on real tasks, plus Spark, an AI tutor in every lessonSource: AILE, Format | The Foundations tier is free (30 courses); going deeper on 49 AI tools and the AILE Credential is AILE Pro, a subscriptionSource: AILE, Price | Five minutes a daySource: AILE, Time | The AILE Credential, earned in a timed, build-based assessment scored against a published rubric, with a public verification page for each credentialSource: AILE, Certificate |
| Brilliant | Interactive course, How AI Works, on how generative AI and language models work, using a live chat interfaceSource: Brilliant, Format | Paid Premium subscription; its page lists $20 a month for one person and says annual billing saves 33%Source: Brilliant, Price | Not stated in hours on its site; the How AI Works course has 31 lessons and 94 exercisesSource: Brilliant, Time | Not stated on its siteSource: Brilliant, Certificate |
| Coursiv | Library of short, self-contained lessons on AI tools such as ChatGPT and Claude, on web, iPhone and AndroidSource: Coursiv, Format | Paid subscription with 1-week, 4-week and 12-week plans that renew automatically; a short quiz comes before you see what it costsSource: Coursiv, Price | Short, self-contained lessonsSource: Coursiv, Time | An AI Certificate Program, included in the subscriptionSource: Coursiv, Certificate |
| Elements of AI | Free online course, Introduction to AI, combining theory with practical exercises; no complicated math or programmingSource: Elements of AI, Format | FreeSource: Elements of AI, Price | Self-paced; about 4 to 8 hours per part of the course, and its FAQ suggests finishing within 6 weeksSource: Elements of AI, Time | The Introduction to AI certificate is free of chargeSource: Elements of AI, Certificate |
| Google AI Essentials | Self-paced course on Coursera, taught by AI experts at Google, with videos, readings and interactive exercisesSource: Google AI Essentials, Format | Paid: $49 USD a month on Coursera after a 7-day free trial (U.S. and Canada)Source: Google AI Essentials, Price | Under 5 hoursSource: Google AI Essentials, Time | A certificate from Google on completionSource: Google AI Essentials, Certificate |
| OpenAI Academy | Learning paths for AI at work, building with AI, leading AI adoption and teaching, plus live webinars and recordingsSource: OpenAI Academy, Format | No price is shown on its siteSource: OpenAI Academy, Price | Not stated on its siteSource: OpenAI Academy, Time | Not stated on its courses pageSource: OpenAI Academy, Certificate |
Each option
AI Fluency (Claude Academy)
From: Anthropic's education team. Best for: People who already use a chatbot and want a framework for using it well.
Watch out: It comes from Anthropic, the maker of Claude, and is organized around a four-part framework, so check that a framework is what you want to learn.
AI For Everyone
From: DeepLearning.AI, taught by Andrew Ng, on Coursera. Best for: Managers and professionals who want to understand what AI can and cannot do for an organization.
Watch out: It teaches fundamentals through videos, assignments and quizzes, so using AI tools on your own tasks is up to you.
AILE
From: AILE LLC, the publisher of this page. Best for: Adults who feel behind and want a daily habit of using AI on real tasks.
Watch out: Not released yet: the app opens to its waitlist in waves, and no Credentials have been issued yet.
Brilliant
From: Brilliant.org. Best for: Curious learners who want to see how language models work under the hood, with interactive exercises.
Watch out: The course is about how language models work, and its last two levels are titled with Python, so it may be more than you want if you only need to use AI tools at work.
Coursiv
From: Coursiv. Best for: People who want a guided daily path into AI tools and a certificate to show for it.
Watch out: Prices appear only after the quiz, so compare the plan and its renewal terms before you pay.
Elements of AI
From: University of Helsinki and MinnaLearn. Best for: Anyone who wants a thorough, free grounding in what AI is, from a university.
Watch out: It is a general introduction to AI, so it may not be the place to learn one particular tool.
Google AI Essentials
From: Google, on Coursera. Best for: People who want a short course and a certificate with a recognized name for a resume.
Watch out: It costs a monthly fee after the free trial and is self-paced, so finishing it depends on your own schedule.
OpenAI Academy
From: OpenAI. Best for: ChatGPT users who want official tips and live sessions.
Watch out: It is run by OpenAI, and its courses page names Codex and the OpenAI API, so expect OpenAI's own tools. It shows no price or time, so check both before you commit.
How to choose
- Pick the format you will actually return to: a daily app, or a course you block time for.
- Practice beats watching. Whatever you choose, use a real AI tool on a real task the same day.
- Start free where you can, and pay only once you know you will keep going.
- Want a certificate for a resume? Pick a course that issues one from a name an employer knows.
How we chose
We picked well-known options that a beginner could start today or, for AILE, join the waitlist for. The list is not exhaustive, and leaving a course off does not mean we rate it lower. We checked every fact against the provider's own site; the oldest check was on October 14, 2026. Product names belong to their owners; AILE is not affiliated with or endorsed by any of them.
Questions people ask
What is the best app to learn AI for free?
Several are free. Elements of AI's Introduction to AI course is free, and so is its certificate. Claude Academy lists free courses from Anthropic's education team. AILE's Foundations tier is free too, with a paid tier, AILE Pro, for going deeper. OpenAI Academy shows no price on its site. Google AI Essentials costs $49 USD a month on Coursera after a 7-day free trial in the U.S. and Canada, and AI For Everyone's Certificate experience is a purchase at enrollment, though eligible learners may start with a free trial. The best free option is the one you will open again tomorrow.
Which AI course gives a recognized certificate?
Google AI Essentials ends in a certificate from Google. AI For Everyone offers a shareable certificate, part of the Certificate experience you purchase at enrollment. Elements of AI's Introduction to AI certificate is free of charge. Claude Academy's AI Fluency course ends in a completion badge rather than a certificate.
Do I need to code to learn AI?
Not for most of these. Elements of AI's Introduction to AI course needs no complicated math or programming, and Google AI Essentials lists "No experience required." Brilliant's How AI Works course is the exception to watch for: its last two levels are titled "Language Analysis with Python" and "Text Generation with Python."
Is it fair for AILE to rank AILE?
We do not rank. The list is alphabetical, every fact links to its source, and each entry, AILE's included, says what it is best for and what to watch out for.