Why people look for an alternative
- Coursera Plus lists $59 a month, or $399 a year, and shows a 7-day free trial.
- Coursera's catalog is broad, from courses to degrees; you may want something focused on AI alone.
- You may want to start without paying: Elements of AI is free, and so are Anthropic's AI Fluency courses.
Side by side
| Option | Format | Price | Time | Certificate |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AI Fluency (Claude Academy) | Online course (14 lessons and a quiz) on working with AI using the 4D framework: Delegation, Description, Discernment and DiligenceSource: AI Fluency (Claude Academy), Format | Free courses from Anthropic's education teamSource: AI Fluency (Claude Academy), Price | 4 hours for AI Fluency: Framework and foundationsSource: AI Fluency (Claude Academy), Time | A completion badge after a final assessmentSource: AI Fluency (Claude Academy), Certificate |
| AILE | iPhone and iPad app with five-minute lessons on real tasks, plus Spark, an AI tutor in every lessonSource: AILE, Format | The Foundations tier is free (31 courses), and so is the assessment for the AILE Credential; going deeper on 51 AI tools is AILE Pro, a subscriptionSource: AILE, Price | Five minutes a daySource: AILE, Time | The AILE Credential, earned in a short assessment of real-world scenarios and prompts, with answer keys and AI grading; once earned, a credential gets its own public verification pageSource: AILE, Certificate |
| Brilliant | Course, How AI Works, on how generative AI and language models work, using a live chat interfaceSource: Brilliant, Format | Paid Premium subscription; its page lists $20 a month for one person and says annual billing saves 33%Source: Brilliant, Price | Not stated in hours on the course page; the How AI Works course has 31 lessons and 94 exercisesSource: Brilliant, Time | Its help center says Brilliant does not currently offer completion certificatesSource: Brilliant, Certificate |
| Coursiv | Library of short, self-contained lessons on AI tools such as ChatGPT and Claude, on web, iPhone and AndroidSource: Coursiv, Format | Paid subscription with 1-week, 4-week and 12-week plans that renew automatically; a short quiz comes before you see what it costsSource: Coursiv, Price | Short, self-contained lessonsSource: Coursiv, Time | An AI Certificate Program, included in the subscriptionSource: Coursiv, Certificate |
| Elements of AI | Free online course, Introduction to AI, combining theory with practical exercises; no complicated math or programmingSource: Elements of AI, Format | FreeSource: Elements of AI, Price | Self-paced; about 4 to 8 hours per part of the course, and its FAQ suggests finishing within 6 weeksSource: Elements of AI, Time | The Introduction to AI certificate is free of chargeSource: Elements of AI, Certificate |
| OpenAI Academy | Learning paths for AI at work, building with AI, leading AI adoption and teaching, plus live webinars and recordingsSource: OpenAI Academy, Format | No price is shown on its home or courses pagesSource: OpenAI Academy, Price | Not stated on its courses pageSource: OpenAI Academy, Time | Not stated on its courses pageSource: OpenAI Academy, Certificate |
Each option
AI Fluency (Claude Academy)
From: Anthropic's education team. Best for: People who already use a chatbot and want a framework for using it well.
Watch out: It comes from Anthropic, the maker of Claude, and is organized around a four-part framework, so check that a framework is what you want to learn.
AILE
From: AILE LLC, the publisher of this page. Best for: Adults who feel behind and want a daily habit of using AI on real tasks.
Watch out: It is only on iPhone and iPad, and the AILE Credential is new, so employers are less likely to recognize it than a certificate from a household name.
Brilliant
From: Brilliant.org. Best for: Curious learners who want to see how language models work under the hood, with interactive exercises.
Watch out: The course is about how language models work, and its last two levels are titled with Python, so it may be more than you want if you only need to use AI tools at work.
Coursiv
From: Coursiv. Best for: People who want a guided daily path into AI tools and a certificate to show for it.
Watch out: Prices appear only after the quiz, so compare the plan and its renewal terms before you pay.
Elements of AI
From: University of Helsinki and MinnaLearn. Best for: Anyone who wants a thorough, free grounding in what AI is, from a university.
Watch out: It is a general introduction to AI, so it may not be the place to learn one particular tool.
OpenAI Academy
From: OpenAI. Best for: ChatGPT users who want official tips and live sessions.
Watch out: It is run by OpenAI, and its courses page names Codex and the OpenAI API, so expect OpenAI's own tools. The pages we checked show no price or time, so check both before you commit.
Questions people ask
Is there a free alternative to Coursera for learning AI?
Elements of AI is free, and so are Anthropic's AI Fluency courses. AILE's Foundations tier has 31 free courses.
Is Coursera free?
Coursera Plus lists $59 a month, or $399 a year, and shows a 7-day free trial. Its AI courses page says you can preview the first module of many AI courses at no cost.
Which alternative gives a certificate?
The Elements of AI certificate is free of charge, and Anthropic's AI Fluency course gives a completion badge after a final assessment. AILE offers the AILE Credential.
Other facts we checked
- A broad catalog of courses, Specializations, Professional Certificates and degrees, with more than 375 university and company partners. Source
- Coursera Plus lists $59 a month, cancel anytime, and $399 a year, and shows a 7-day free trial. Source
- Free. Source
- Free courses from Anthropic's education team. Source
- The Foundations tier is free (31 courses), and so is the assessment for the AILE Credential; going deeper on 51 AI tools is AILE Pro, a subscription. Source
- Its AI courses page says you can preview the first module of many artificial intelligence courses at no cost. Source
- The Introduction to AI certificate is free of charge. Source
- A completion badge after a final assessment. Source
- The AILE Credential, earned in a short assessment of real-world scenarios and prompts, with answer keys and AI grading; once earned, a credential gets its own public verification page. Source
Coursera is a name used by its owner. AILE is not affiliated with or endorsed by Coursera. We checked every fact against the sources linked above; the oldest check was on October 14, 2026.