Why people look for an alternative
- Coursiv is a paid subscription with 1-week, 4-week and 12-week plans that renew automatically, and a short quiz comes before you see what it costs.
- You may want to start without paying: Elements of AI is free, and so are Anthropic's AI Fluency courses.
- You may want a certificate with a known name on it: Google AI Essentials ends in a certificate from Google.
Side by side
| Option | Format | Price | Time | Certificate |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AI Fluency (Claude Academy) | Online course (14 lessons and a quiz) on working with AI using the 4D framework: Delegation, Description, Discernment and DiligenceSource: AI Fluency (Claude Academy), Format | Free courses from Anthropic's education teamSource: AI Fluency (Claude Academy), Price | 4 hours for AI Fluency: Framework and foundationsSource: AI Fluency (Claude Academy), Time | A completion badge after a final assessmentSource: AI Fluency (Claude Academy), Certificate |
| AI For Everyone | Self-paced course taught by Andrew Ng, aimed at non-technical colleagues, with videos, assignments and quizzesSource: AI For Everyone, Format | The Certificate experience is a purchase at enrollment, and eligible learners may start with a free trial; its page says some courses also offer a Full Course, No Certificate optionSource: AI For Everyone, Price | 7 hours to complete, in 4 modulesSource: AI For Everyone, Time | Shareable certificate you can add to LinkedInSource: AI For Everyone, Certificate |
| AILE | iPhone and iPad app with five-minute lessons on real tasks, plus Spark, an AI tutor in every lessonSource: AILE, Format | The Foundations tier is free (31 courses), and so is the assessment for the AILE Credential; going deeper on 51 AI tools is AILE Pro, a subscriptionSource: AILE, Price | Five minutes a daySource: AILE, Time | The AILE Credential, earned in a short assessment of real-world scenarios and prompts, with answer keys and AI grading; once earned, a credential gets its own public verification pageSource: AILE, Certificate |
| Brilliant | Course, How AI Works, on how generative AI and language models work, using a live chat interfaceSource: Brilliant, Format | Paid Premium subscription; its page lists $20 a month for one person and says annual billing saves 33%Source: Brilliant, Price | Not stated in hours on the course page; the How AI Works course has 31 lessons and 94 exercisesSource: Brilliant, Time | Its help center says Brilliant does not currently offer completion certificatesSource: Brilliant, Certificate |
| Elements of AI | Free online course, Introduction to AI, combining theory with practical exercises; no complicated math or programmingSource: Elements of AI, Format | FreeSource: Elements of AI, Price | Self-paced; about 4 to 8 hours per part of the course, and its FAQ suggests finishing within 6 weeksSource: Elements of AI, Time | The Introduction to AI certificate is free of chargeSource: Elements of AI, Certificate |
| Google AI Essentials | Self-paced course on Coursera, taught by AI experts at Google, with videos, readings and interactive exercisesSource: Google AI Essentials, Format | Paid: $49 USD a month on Coursera after a 7-day free trial (U.S. and Canada)Source: Google AI Essentials, Price | Under 5 hoursSource: Google AI Essentials, Time | A certificate from Google on completionSource: Google AI Essentials, Certificate |
| OpenAI Academy | Learning paths for AI at work, building with AI, leading AI adoption and teaching, plus live webinars and recordingsSource: OpenAI Academy, Format | No price is shown on its home or courses pagesSource: OpenAI Academy, Price | Not stated on its courses pageSource: OpenAI Academy, Time | Not stated on its courses pageSource: OpenAI Academy, Certificate |
Each option
AI Fluency (Claude Academy)
From: Anthropic's education team. Best for: People who already use a chatbot and want a framework for using it well.
Watch out: It comes from Anthropic, the maker of Claude, and is organized around a four-part framework, so check that a framework is what you want to learn.
AI For Everyone
From: DeepLearning.AI, taught by Andrew Ng, on Coursera. Best for: Managers and professionals who want to understand what AI can and cannot do for an organization.
Watch out: It teaches fundamentals through videos, assignments and quizzes, so using AI tools on your own tasks is up to you.
AILE
From: AILE LLC, the publisher of this page. Best for: Adults who feel behind and want a daily habit of using AI on real tasks.
Watch out: It is only on iPhone and iPad, and the AILE Credential is new, so employers are less likely to recognize it than a certificate from a household name.
Brilliant
From: Brilliant.org. Best for: Curious learners who want to see how language models work under the hood, with interactive exercises.
Watch out: The course is about how language models work, and its last two levels are titled with Python, so it may be more than you want if you only need to use AI tools at work.
Elements of AI
From: University of Helsinki and MinnaLearn. Best for: Anyone who wants a thorough, free grounding in what AI is, from a university.
Watch out: It is a general introduction to AI, so it may not be the place to learn one particular tool.
Google AI Essentials
From: Google, on Coursera. Best for: People who want a short course and a certificate with a recognized name for a resume.
Watch out: It costs a monthly fee after the free trial and is self-paced, so finishing it depends on your own schedule.
OpenAI Academy
From: OpenAI. Best for: ChatGPT users who want official tips and live sessions.
Watch out: It is run by OpenAI, and its courses page names Codex and the OpenAI API, so expect OpenAI's own tools. The pages we checked show no price or time, so check both before you commit.
Questions people ask
What is a free alternative to Coursiv?
Elements of AI is free, and so are Anthropic's AI Fluency courses. AILE's Foundations tier has 31 free courses.
Which Coursiv alternative gives a certificate?
Google AI Essentials ends in a certificate from Google, and the Elements of AI certificate is free of charge. AILE offers the AILE Credential; once earned, each one gets a public verification page.
Is Coursiv free?
No. Coursiv is a paid subscription with 1-week, 4-week and 12-week plans that renew automatically.
Other facts we checked
- Paid subscription with 1-week, 4-week and 12-week plans that renew automatically; a short quiz comes before you see what it costs. Source
- Free. Source
- Free courses from Anthropic's education team. Source
- A certificate from Google on completion. Source
- The Foundations tier is free (31 courses), and so is the assessment for the AILE Credential; going deeper on 51 AI tools is AILE Pro, a subscription. Source
- The Introduction to AI certificate is free of charge. Source
- The AILE Credential, earned in a short assessment of real-world scenarios and prompts, with answer keys and AI grading; once earned, a credential gets its own public verification page. Source
Coursiv is a name used by its owner. AILE is not affiliated with or endorsed by Coursiv. We checked every fact against the sources linked above; the oldest check was on October 14, 2026.